Leifur Ýmir got Motivation Award of the Year

Leifur Ýmir Ejólfsson

Artist Leifur Ýmir Eyjólfsson got the Motivation Award of the Year 2019 for the exhibition in the D-series Manuscript at Reykjavík Art Museum - Hafnarhús. Artist Eygló Harðardóttir is the Artist of the year for the exhibition Another Space at The Living Art Museum. Reykjavík Art Museum congratulates both artists. The exhibition Manuscript will be on view until 4 March and now on view on Hafnarhús 3rd floor is the work Glass Sculpture by Eygló Harðardóttir - from the exhibition Another Space. The work is a part of Reykjavík Art Museum's collection. 

It is the jury´s opinion that Eygló´s exhibition showed all her main characteristics; a passion for art, an unbridled creation, a profound curiosity of the functionality of the inscrutable, and dissemination and teaching which is apparent in the trust she placed in the viewers in their interpretation of the work. Teh jury is of the opinion that Leifur Ýmir memorably intergrates the content and material in this exhibition which follows the viewer outside the museum and into daily life, where it keeps on brewing in the mind. Markús Þór Andrésson was the curator of Manuscript

Nominated as artists of the year including Eygló were Guðmundur Thoroddsen for Snip Snap Snubbur at Hafnarborg, Hekla Dögg Jónsdóttir for Evolvement at Kling & Bang Gallery and Steinunn Gunnlaugsdóttir for The Little MareSausage, Cycle Music & Art. Nominated to the Motivational Award of the Year inclunding Leifur Ýmir were Auður Ómarsdóttir for In off the post at Kling & Bang Gallery and Fritz Hendrik for Routine Dream at Kling & Bang Gallery.

Jury for The Icelandic Art Prize 2019:
Aðalsteinn Ingólfsson - Association of Art History and Theory, Hanna Styrmisdóttir - representative of museum directors, Jóhann Ludwig Torfason from SÍM, Margrét Kristín Sigurðardóttir - Chairman of the Icelandic Visual Arts Council, and Sigurður Guðjónsson from Iceland University of the Arts.